Lana Del Rey @ Amoeba

The ever controversial Lana Del Rey played a free in-store at Amoeba Records yesterday.  I’ll admit despite following her blossoming career for a quite sometime, I’ve not heard her record, I’ve watched her awkward TV appearances, and I wanted to experience the hype in person.

The line was really long (I got there at 3:30 and it was literally around the block) and filled with people that looked like this.

During my tenure in Los Angeles I’d yet to see an in-store at Amoeba.  Didn’t know what to expect, but certainly didn’t expect assigned standing-room-only according to where you were at in line.  After waiting outside for 2.5 hours I got inside only to be stuck in the “Reggae 45’s” section with a curious Bob Marley pondering why there were so many smelly hipsters in his aisle.

Lana started her set with “Born To Die“.  She was accompanied by a solitary piano for her whole set (5 songs, including “Video Games” and “Blue Jeans“, that all ended up sounding pretty similar due to the stripped down music).  Despite all the criticism she currently receives, her voice was pretty strong.  I don’t know if it’s “Golden Ticket to Hollywood in American Idol” strong, but there were some notes that made me want to cheer along with the crowd.  She nervously mumbled through banter between songs.  The whole shindig lasted about 17 minutes.

When she started singing the camera phones came out in droves.

This guy was double fisting.

Just to give you some perspective of how disappointingly far away I was.  That’s her…the little white dot in the middle-ish.

Lee

Tagged , , , , ,

Say some shit...

